Upcoming Events

Title Date Details
The Washington Informer presents: The 2016 Washington Informer African American Heritage Tour Sat, 02/13/2016 - 8:00am
TWB: Adult Yoga
Sat, 09/05/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 09/12/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 09/19/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 09/26/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 10/03/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 10/10/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 10/17/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 10/24/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 10/31/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 11/07/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 11/14/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 11/21/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 11/28/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 12/05/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 12/12/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 12/19/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 12/26/2015 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 01/02/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 01/09/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 01/16/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 01/23/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 01/30/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 02/06/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 02/13/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 02/20/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am
Sat, 02/27/2016 - 8:45am - 10:00am

Vinyasa Yoga is a practice where postures or asanas are connected through the breath for a transformative and balanccing effect. it builds heat, endurance, flexibility and strength!

Rocketship presents: The Ward 8 Education Fair Sat, 02/13/2016 - 11:00am - 3:00pm

Ward 8 Parents, did you know the deadline for 2016-2017 school applications is fast approaching? Join us to get information on quality public school & public charter school choices right in your community!

TWB: Zumba
Mon, 08/31/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 09/07/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 09/14/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 09/21/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 09/28/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 10/05/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 10/12/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 10/19/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 10/26/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 11/02/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 11/09/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 11/16/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 11/23/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 11/30/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 12/07/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 12/14/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 12/21/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 12/28/2015 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 01/04/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 01/11/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 01/18/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 01/25/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 02/01/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 02/08/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 02/15/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 02/22/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Mon, 02/29/2016 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm

Ditch the workout, join the party! Latin Dance-Fitness fuses hypnotic Latin rhythms and easy to follow moves to create a dynamic fitness program that will blow you away!

Teen SOS
Wed, 01/06/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 01/13/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 01/20/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 01/27/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 02/03/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 02/10/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 02/17/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 02/24/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 03/02/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 03/09/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 03/16/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 03/23/2016 - 5:00pm - 6:30pm

Teen SOS is a program designed to give teens, ages 15-18, the opportunity to come together, talk about real issues and facts in confidence and get adult input from people they can trust.  There will also be retreats, outings and other...

TWB: Adult African Dance
Wed, 09/02/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 09/09/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 09/16/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 09/23/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 09/30/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 10/07/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 10/14/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 10/21/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 10/28/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 11/04/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 11/11/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 11/18/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 11/25/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 12/02/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 12/09/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 12/16/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 12/23/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 12/30/2015 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 01/06/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 01/13/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 01/20/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 01/27/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 02/03/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 02/10/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 02/17/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Wed, 02/24/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:30pm

Taught by Sylvia Soumah, founder of Coyaba Dance Theater and teacher at The Washington Ballet (SE Campus), Adult African Dance classes provide a friendly environment to learn West African dance. Come feel the beat!

TWB: Adult Kundalini Yoga
Thu, 01/07/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 01/14/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 01/21/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 01/28/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 02/04/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 02/11/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 02/18/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 02/25/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 03/03/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 03/10/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 03/17/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 03/24/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm
Thu, 03/31/2016 - 7:30pm - 8:45pm

It's time to try something new! Come experience Kundalini Yoga, a science that works on your engery system using various hand and fingeer positions (mudras) body postures (asanas), and chants (mantras).

Child Car Seat Inspection
Fri, 03/06/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/13/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/20/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/27/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 04/03/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 04/10/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 04/17/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 05/08/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 05/22/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 05/29/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 06/05/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 06/12/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 06/19/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 06/26/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 07/03/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 07/10/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 07/17/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 07/24/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 07/31/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 08/07/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 08/14/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 08/21/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 08/28/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 09/04/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 09/11/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 09/18/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 09/25/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 10/02/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 10/09/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 10/16/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 10/30/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 11/06/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 11/13/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 11/20/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 11/27/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 12/04/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 12/11/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 12/18/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 12/25/2015 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 01/01/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 01/08/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 01/15/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 01/22/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 01/29/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 02/05/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 02/12/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 02/19/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 02/26/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/04/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/11/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/18/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm
Fri, 03/25/2016 - 10:30am - 3:30pm

With a mission to ensure children are properly secured in safety seats and belts, DC Safe Kids in partnership with Children's Health Project of DC is holding FREE child safety seat inspections at THEARC every Friday.

Inspections take...

Ward 8 Homebuyers Club Tue, 02/23/2016 - 6:30pm

MANNA and the 11th Street Bridge Park (a project of Ward 8 based non-profit Building Bridges Aross the River at THEARC) have teamed up of offer a monthly Homebuyers Club for Ward 8 residents! 

Black Angels Over Tuskegee
Thu, 02/25/2016 - 7:30pm
Fri, 02/26/2016 - 7:30pm

Described by The New York Times as Landon Gray’s “tough to resist” drama detailing the bravery of the Tuskegee Airmen, Black Angels Over Tuskegee delivers an epic re-telling set against the backdrop of World War II. The show...

THEARC Theater Usher Orientation Thu, 03/03/2016 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

THEARC Theater is looking for warm, friendly individuals who enjoy working with people to join our front line hospitality team. To be considered for an usher position, please come dressed in business casual attire and have an update resume. For...

THEARC Theater Usher Orientation Sat, 03/05/2016 - 12:00pm - 2:00pm

THEARC Theater is looking for warm, friendly individuals who enjoy working with people to join our front line hospitality team.

The Wacky & Whimsical Tea for THEARC Sun, 03/06/2016 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm

The Wacky & Whimsical Tea for THEARC is a fun-filled,  Sunday afternoon tea featuring adventurous delight for the entire family. Activities include high tea, creative games, special entertainment and other great surprises.  All of...

theNewMovement: Diverse Dance Sun, 03/06/2016 - 3:00pm

The launch of an annual initiative to highlight new choreographers; excerpts from the works of Dwight Rhoden, Darrell Grande Moultrie, Gesel Mason, Andile Ndlovu, Luis r. Torres, Austin lam and Runqiao Du.

Double Time Jazz@THEARC: Black Alley Fri, 04/01/2016 - 8:00pm

Double Time Jazz @ THEARC feat. Black Alley - Double Time Jazz @ THEARC feat. Black Alley sponsored in part through the DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities and I CAN Technical Theater Internship @ THEARC. This edition of Double Time...

Double Time Jazz @ THEARC:Robert Person Fri, 04/08/2016 - 8:00pm

Double Time Jazz @ THEARC feat. Robert Person - Double Time Jazz @ THEARC feat. Robert Person, Allyn Johnson, and Nasir Abadey's Rennaissance Orchestra in a Big Band Swing! sponsored in part through the DC Commission on the Arts &...

Double Time Jazz@THEARC: Robert Glasper Trio Fri, 04/15/2016 - 8:00pm

Double Time Jazz @ THEARC feat. Robert Glasper Trio - One night only! Robert Glasper Trio performs at THEARC Theater. Robert Glasper Trio will perform music from latest album album Covered (The Robert Glasper Trio recorded live at Capitol...

Performing Arts and Literary Society (PALS) presents: A Change is Gonna Come Fri, 04/22/2016 - 8:00pm

Performing Arts and Literary Society (PALS) present.. The award-winning domestic violence awareness stage play, "A Change Is Gonna Come", Written By: Award-Winning Playwright, Vickie L. Evans!

Performing Arts and Literary Society (PALS) presents: A Change is Gonna Come Sat, 04/23/2016 - 4:00pm

Performing Arts and Literary Society (PALS) present.. The award-winning domestic violence awareness stage play, "A Change Is Gonna Come", Written By: Award-Winning Playwright, Vickie L. Evans!

Double Time Jazz@THEARC: Kim Jordan (In Tribute to Gil Scott Heron) Fri, 04/29/2016 - 8:00pm

Double Time Jazz @ THEARC feat. Kim Jordan - Double Time Jazz @ THEARC Theater will feature Kim Jordan In Tribute to Gil Scott Heron. 
Kim, an extraordinarily gifted artist, keyboardist, producer, vocal coach, engineer, preacher...

Imagination Stage at THEARC presents: Boxes, Boxes, Boxes!
Tue, 05/03/2016 - 11:45am
Wed, 05/04/2016 - 11:45am
Thu, 05/05/2016 - 11:45am

Two friends use their imaginations to build a world out of boxes!

TWB presents: Coppelia The Magical Toy Shop
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 1:00pm
Sun, 05/22/2016 - 1:00pm

A charming ballet about an eccentric dollmaker!

Music - Leo Delibes

Choreography - Arthur Saint-Leon

Staging - Luis R. Torres

Tickets start at $25

Community tickets (for ward 7 & 8 residents): $15

TWB presents: Coppelia The Magical Toy Shop: Sat, 05/21/2016 - 5:00pm

A charming ballet about an eccentric dollmaker!